Team

Home / Team

Board of Directors


Claude Gagnon

Chairman of the Board of BioTEPP Inc., Claude Gagnon a seasoned agronomist has extensive experience in the agricultural field. He began his career as a technical representative at Ciba-Geigy and then at Chemagro, a division of Bayer. Subsequently, with two partners, he founded his own company, Axter Agroscience Inc., a manufacturer of specialty nutritional formulas for agricultural and ornamental crops. As Research Leader at Axter, he has developed, in collaboration with the University of Guelph (Ontario) innovative nutritional formulas that reduce the loss of crop yield due to herbicide stress. Already owner of a large block of shares of BioTEPP, a start-up founded in 1998, he took the direction of the company after having sold Axter, in 2014. Claude Gagnon holds a degree in Agricultural Sciences from Université Laval (Quebec) and is a member of the Ordre des agronomes du Québec.

Sylvain Lavoie

Director of BioTEPP, Sylvain Lavoie has been active for more than thirty years in the Quebec and Canadian agricultural industry. Managing Director of Synagri since 2012, he is recognized for his managerial and strategic skills. He has previously held a number of senior executive positions, including that of vice president Eastern Canada at Yara. He also worked for fifteen years in the Quebec agricultural cooperative sector. His expertise now allows him to have a global vision of modern agriculture and its challenges. Mr. Lavoie holds a Bachelor’s degree in Agriculture from McGill University, as well as a Master’s degree in Business Administration (MBA) from the Université du Québec à Montréal, and studies corporate governance at the Collège des administrateurs de sociétés of Université Laval (Quebec). He is an active member of the Ordre des agronomes du Québec.

 


 Hugo Saint-Laurent

Director of BioTEPP, Hugo St-Laurent is president and chief executive officer of SiliCycle Inc., of which he is the co-founder and where he manages all the activities and supervises all the vice-presidents and directors. Very active in sales and marketing, he is also involved in financial strategies and human resources and leads strategic projects such as acquisitions and implementations. Before joining SiliCycle, he worked at the Quebec National Institute of Scientific Research (INRS GéoRessources) and co-founded as well as co-chaired Enviro-Dynamique. Holder of a university certificate in corporate governance from the Collège des administrateurs de sociétés of Université Laval (Quebec), he is also very socially committed. He is a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec and of several Boards of Directors including that of ComédieAh !, Mirapakon, Total Océan and J’entreprends Québec. Mr. St-Laurent holds a degree in Chemical Engineering from Université Laval.

Management Team

Sylvie Richard

President and Chief Executive Officer, Sylvie Richard has acquired, during her 25 years of experience as a multidisciplinary agronomist, an in-depth knowledge of various issues in the agri-food sector, having been asked to coordinate several technical, political, regulatory and corporate projects as well as in research and development. As a consultant and project manager she also acts as a coordinator for the Quebec Grain Sector Consultation Group. She was a GHG analyst for Coop Carbone and provided work organization advice to farm business managers. She worked for the Coop fédérée, Couvoir et fermes, as assistant director of the poultry division and was project and file manager for the Quebec Association of Animal and Grain Nutrition Industries, the Couvoiriers du Québec as well as for the Professional Association in Crop Nutrition. Ms. Richard holds a Bachelor’s degree in Bio-Agronomy from Université Laval (Quebec).

Pierre Laborde

Vice-President Finance, Pierre Laborde joined the company in 2016. Specialized in strategic analysis, editing and financing of projects as well as innovation partnerships, throughout his career he acquired a solid experience in management and business management during the launch and commercial deployment phases of biotechnology start-ups. Working for an investment fund, he was responsible for some 20 financings for technology SMEs working in the fields of life sciences and industrial biotechnologies. He also co-founded and directed for 10 years a start-up specialized in extraction processes, separation and purification of pharmaceutical and nutraceutical active ingredients. Furthermore, he has led several projects to set up industrial units for extracting and purifying pharmaceutical and nutraceutical ingredients from natural biomasses. An engineer by training, Pierre Laborde started his career in engineering consulting on international industrial projects. He also holds an MBA.

Michel Tremblay

Vice-President Marketing, responsible for the marketing and sales of VIROSOFTTM CP4 at BioTEPP since 2016, Michel Tremblay, agronomist, has nearly 40 years of experience in sales and market development of pesticide used in horticultural and fruit crops in Canada. During his career, he has worked for large companies such as Rohm and Haas Canada and Dow AgroSciences. His expertise in plant protection products is varied; he is specialized in phytopathology (Université Laval, Quebec), was a technical delegate at CropLife Canada, President of CropLife Quebec and Atlantic, and Director at the Reference Center for Agriculture and Agri-Food Quebec (CRAAQ). Michel Tremblay brings to BioTEPP his vast experience in the introduction and marketing of low-risk or biological insecticides.

André Chapleau

Communications Manager, André Chapleau is a seasoned communicator with nearly 40 years of experience serving large organizations. Expert in media relations, crisis management and organizational writing, he acted as main spokesperson for Desjardins Group, Canada’s largest co-operative financial group, where he played an advisory role in strategic communications with senior management and department heads. Prior to joining Desjardins Group, he worked at Bell Canada where he touched on several areas of communication including media relations, internal communications, advertising and event sponsorship. He is proud to be able to contribute to the successes of BioTEPP.

Researchers

Dr. Harnaivo Rasamimanana

Director Research & Development, Production, Dr. Harnaivo Rasamimanana holds a PhD in Applied Biological Sciences, Agricultural Entomology option, from the University of Antananarivo (Madagascar). He joined BioTEPP’s first team in 1998, after a postdoctoral fellowship with researchers of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and of INRS(National Institute of Scientific Research). He quickly became director of research responsible for the development of baculoviruses for the control of plant pests, particularly the codling moth larva. He has assumed the scientific and technical direction of the work leading to the definitive approval of VIROSOFTTM CP4 in Canada and the United States and is developing the quality control procedures for the finished products. He started production at the BioTEPP plant in Cap Chat, Quebec, where he is still supervising the work.

Dr. An Nguyen

With more than fifteen years of experience in entomology, microbiology and phytopathology Dr. Thi Thuy An Nguyen, R&D Project Manager, holds a bachelor’s degree in agronomy from the University of Agronomy (Vietnam), a master’s degree in plant biology and a doctorate in entomology from Université Laval (Quebec) where she has held several postdoctoral fellowships in microbiology and entomology. She is particularly interested in insect pests of plants, pathogenic fungi and biological control. She joined the BioTEPP team in February 2018 and also works as a research professional at the Center for Plant Innovation Research at Université Laval, where she is responsible for project management and supervision of undergraduate and graduate students. She has written protocols, reports and several articles and presented the results of her work at various provincial and national science conferences.

 

 

 


Sophie Gilg

Responsible for research and development projects, Sophie Gilg manages virology projects and contributes to BioTEPP’s Entomology R&D Laboratory. She holds a bachelor’s degree in molecular and cellular biology and a master’s degree in biology of micro-organisms, with a specialty in virology, from the University of Strasbourg (France). She has completed several internships and held various jobs in molecular biology and in virology in different research laboratories in France. In particular, she studied the virus responsible for severe fanleaf in vineyards and giant viruses.

Notre équipe

Home / Notre équipe

Conseil d’administration


Claude Gagnon

Président du conseil d’administration de BioTEPP Inc., Claude Gagnon possède une vaste expérience dans le domaine agricole. Agronome de formation, il a débuté sa carrière comme représentant technique chez Ciba-Geigy puis chez Chemagro, une division de la compagnie Bayer. Par la suite , il fonde, avec deux partenaires, sa propre entreprise : Axter Agroscience Inc., manufacturière de formules nutritives de spécialité pour les cultures agricoles et ornementales. À titre de responsable de la recherche chez Axter, il a notamment mis au point, en collaboration avec l’Université de Guelph, en Ontario, des formules nutritives innovantes qui permettent de réduire la perte de rendement des cultures due au stress causé par les herbicides. Déjà détenteur d’un important bloc d’actions de BioTEPP, une start-up fondée en 1998, c’est après avoir vendu Axter, en 2014, qu’il en a pris la direction. Claude Gagnon détient un diplôme en Sciences agronomiques de l’Université Laval (Québec) et est membre de l’Ordre des agronomes du Québec.


Sylvain Lavoie

Administrateur de BioTEPP, Sylvain Lavoie est actif depuis plus de trente ans au sein de l’industrie agricole québécoise et canadienne.  Directeur général de SynagriS.E.C. depuis 2012, il est reconnu pour ses qualités de gestionnaire et de stratège. Il a auparavant occupé plusieurs postes de haute direction, notamment celui de vice-président pour l’Est du Canada de la multinationale Yara. Il a aussi œuvré pendant quinze ans au sein du mouvement coopératif agricole québécois. Son expertise lui permet aujourd’hui d’avoir une vision globale de l’agriculture moderne et de ses enjeux. M. Lavoie est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en agriculture de l’Université McGill de même que d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA) de l’Université du Québec à Montréal ainsi qu’une formation en gouvernance de sociétés du Collège des administrateurs de sociétés de l’Université Laval (Québec). Il est membre de l’Ordre des agronomes du Québec.

Hugo St-Laurent

Administrateur de BioTEPP, Hugo St-Laurent est président, chef de la direction de SiliCycle Inc., dont il est le cofondateur. Il en gère l’ensemble des activités et supervise tous les vice-présidents et directeurs. Très actif en vente et en marketing, il est aussi très impliqué dans les stratégies financières et les ressources humaines. Il assume aussi la gestion des projets stratégiques (acquisitions, implantations). Avant de joindre SiliCycle, il a œuvré à l’Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS GéoRessources) et a été cofondateur et coprésident de Enviro-Dynamique. Détenteur d’un certificat universitaire en gouvernance de sociétés du Collège des administrateurs de sociétés de l’Université Laval (Québec), il est aussi très engagé socialement. Il est membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec et de plusieurs conseils d’administration dont, notamment, ceux de ComédieAh!, de Mirapakon, de Total Océan et de J’entreprends Québec. M. St-Laurent détient un diplôme d’ingénieur chimique de l’Université Laval.

 


Équipe de direction

Sylvie Richard

Présidente-directrice générale, Sylvie Richard a acquis, au cours de ses 25 ans d’expérience comme agronome multidisciplinaire, une connaissance approfondie des divers enjeux du secteur agroalimentaire, ayant notamment été appelée à coordonner plusieurs projets d’ordre technique, politique, réglementaire, corporatif de même qu’en matière de recherche et développement. En tant que conseillère et gestionnaire de projets, elle est aussi coordonnatrice pour le Groupe de concertation du secteur des grains du Québec. Elle a entre autres été analyste GES pour la Coop Carbone et a prodigué des conseils en organisation du travail à des gestionnaires d’entreprises agricoles. Elle a œuvré pour la Coop fédérée, Couvoir et fermes, en tant que directrice adjointe de la division avicole, et a été gestionnaire de projets et de dossiers pour l’Association québécoise des industries de nutrition animale et céréalière, les Couvoiriers du Québec ainsi que pour l’Association professionnelle en nutrition des cultures. Mme Richard est détentrice d’un baccalauréat en bioagronomie de l’Université Laval (Québec).

Pierre Laborde

Vice-président Finances, Pierre Laborde a joint BioTEPP en 2016. Spécialiste en matière d’analyse stratégique, de montage et de financement de projets ainsi que de partenariats d’innovation, il a acquis, au cours de sa carrière, une solide expérience en direction et en gestion des affaires lors des phases de lancement et de déploiement commercial de startups biotechnologiques. Il a notamment été responsable, pour un fonds d’investissement, d’une vingtaine de financements pour des PME technologiques œuvrant dans les domaines des sciences de la vie et des biotechnologies industrielles. Il a aussi co-fondé et dirigé pendant 10 ans une startup spécialisée en procédés d’extraction, de séparation et de purification d’ingrédients actifs pharmaceutiques et nutraceutiques. Il a de plus dirigé plusieurs projets d’implantation d’unités industrielles d’extraction et de purification d’ingrédients pharmaceutiques et nutraceutiques à partir de biomasses naturelles. Ingénieur de formation, Pierre Laborde a débuté sa carrière dans le génie-conseil sur des projets industriels internationaux. Il est aussi détenteur d’un MBA.

Michel Tremblay

Vice-président Marketing, responsable de la mise en marché et de la vente du VIROSOFTMCCP4 chez BioTEPP depuis 2016, Michel Tremblay, agronome, compte près de 40 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de la vente et du développement de marché de fongicides et d’insecticides utilisés dans les cultures horticoles et fruitières au Canada. Au cours de sa carrière, il a travaillé pour de grandes entreprises comme Rohm and Haas Canada ou encore Dow AgroSciences. Son expertise en matière de produits de protection des plantes est variée; il est entre autres spécialisé en phytopathologie (Université Laval, Québec), a été délégué technique chez CropLife Canada, président de CropLife Québec et Atlantique, et directeur au Centre de référence en agriculture et agroalimentaire Québec (CRAAQ). Michel Tremblay met aujourd’hui sa vaste expérience en matière d’introduction et de mise en marché d’insecticides à risques réduits, biorationnels ou biologiques, au service de BioTEPP.

André Chapleau

Directeur des Communications, André Chapleau est un communicateur chevronné comptant près de 40 ans d’expérience au service de grandes organisations. Expert en relations de presse, en gestion de crise et en rédaction organisationnelle, il a notamment été le porte-parole du Mouvement Desjardins, le plus important groupe financier coopératif au Canada. À ce titre, il a joué un rôle conseil en matière de communications stratégiques auprès des membres de la haute direction et des responsables des différents services. Il a également œuvré pour Bell Canada où il a touché à plusieurs domaines de la communication dont ceux des relations de presse, de la communication interne, de la publicité et aussi des commandites événementielles. Il est fier de pouvoir contribuer aux succès de BioTEPP.

 


Chercheurs

Dr. Harnaivo Rasamimanana

Directeur Recherche et Développement, Production, Dr.Harnaivo Rasamimanana est détenteur d’un doctorat de troisième cycle (PhD) en Sciences biologiques appliquées, option Entomologie agricole, de l’Université d’Antananarivo, Madagascar. Il s’est joint à la première équipe de BioTEPP dès 1998, et ce, après un stage postdoctoral auprès des chercheurs d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et de l’INRS. Rapidement, il a pris la direction de la recherche et du développement des baculovirus pour la lutte contre les insectes nuisibles aux plantes, en particulier le virus de la granulose du carpocapse. Il a assumé la direction scientifique et technique des travaux conduisant à l’homologation définitive de VIROSOFTMC CP4 au Canada ainsi qu’aux États-Unis et fait la mise au point des procédures de contrôle de qualité des produits finis. Enfin, il a lancé la production à l’usine de BioTEPP à Cap Chat, Québec, où il supervise toujours les travaux.

Dr. An Nguyen

Chargée de projets en Recherche et Développement, Dr. Thi Thuy An Nguyen compte plus de quinze ans d’expérience en entomologie, en microbiologie et en phytopathologie. Elle possède un baccalauréat en agronomie de l’Université de l’Agronomie du Vietnam, une maîtrise en biologie végétale et un doctorat en entomologie de l’Université Laval (Québec). Elle a notamment effectué plusieurs stages postdoctoraux en microbiologie et en entomologie à l’Université Laval. Elle s’intéresse tout particulièrement aux insectes ravageurs des plantes, aux champignons pathogènes et à la lutte biologique. Elle s’est jointe à l’équipe du BioTEPP en février 2018 et travaille également comme professionnelle de recherche au Centre de recherche en innovation sur les végétaux de l’Université Laval où, elle assume, entre autres, la gestion des projets, l’encadrement des étudiants de premier et de deuxième cycles. Elle a rédigé des protocoles, des rapports ainsi que plusieurs articles et en a présenté les résultats lors de différents congrès scientifiques provinciaux et nationaux.

 

 


Sophie Gilg

Chargée de projets en recherche et développement, Sophie Gilg assure la gestion de projets en virologie et participe aux travaux du laboratoire R&D en entomologie de BioTEPP. Détentrice d’un baccalauréat en biologie moléculaire et cellulaire ainsi que d’une maîtrise en biologie des micro-organismes spécialisée en virologie, de l’Université de Strasbourg (France), elle a effectué plusieurs stages et occupé divers emplois en biologie moléculaire et en virologie dans différents laboratoires de recherche en France. Elle y a notamment étudié le virus responsable de la maladie du court-noué dans les vignobles et les virus géants.